Biscotti Binge

The only bad thing about visiting my yogi family is their weird eating patterns. They are so busy they don’t eat until, well, dinner. I’m the must-eat-every-two-hours-or-die type.

I blame them for what happened when I got home… defrosting a frozen half-batch of biscotti dough, baking it, and promptly eating the whole dang thing in the next day and a half.

Oops.

It wouldn’t have been so bad if I hadn’t been on such a biscotti binge lately. It all started out innocently enough. I wanted a not-too-sweet, true biscotti — too hard to munch like a cookie, which meant I couldn’t binge eat them. I made almond biscotti. No-guilt cookies for breakfast? I was smitten.

Not content with temptation-resistant cookies, apparently, Aussie then put in a request for double-chocolate almond biscotti. Oh holy yum. Luckily, these were still fairly safe… even though they taste pretty good on their own, they are to-die-for dunked in coffee, so I could restrain myself.

Then Joy the Baker just had to go post a recipe for peanut butter pecan biscotti. Oh, Joy, why do you do this to me? I’m defenseless in the face of peanut butter…

(Um, I may have been to busy eating these to take a photo!)

And… that is what pushed me over the edge into a biscotti-gorging monster. Peanut Butter Pecan Biscotti and my yogi family. It certainly wasn’t my fault for going on a biscotti-baking binge in the first place…! (Ha. Ha Ha.)

So delicious, so terrible, so not to be repeated.

2 thoughts on “Biscotti Binge

  1. Matt says:

    hmmm. yum. 🙂

  2. Julia says:

    I went on a biscotti marathon one fine winter. The goal was to see how many different flavors and combinations of the twice baked cookie I could come up with. Everything from banana, dried cherries, cinnamon, spice, chocolate dipped was tried….and successfully eaten.

Leave a comment