Low-Fat Tuesday

According to my Facebook newsfeed, today is Mardi Gras… aka Fat Tuesday.

I had oatmeal for breakfast, asked for non-fat milk in my cafe au lait, and had homemade chicken noodle soup for lunch. My snacks so far have consisted of a banana and a few almonds. As if that isn’t bad enough, I’ll be eating a meat-less risotto for dinner after a trip to the gym.

What the hell is going on here?

Last year, I made Cinnamon Bun Pancakes with Maple Butter Icing (apparently Australians celebrate by eating pancakes) for Mardi Gras. Today, I have a measly half ounce portion of dark chocolate in which to indulge.

Humph.

As much as I’d like to tell you that I’m heading home and scarfing down some Peanut Butter Pecan Biscotti or Peanut Butter Stuffed Hot Fudge Cupcakes or homemade Peanut-ella (why yes, I DO have a thing for peanut butter!)… I’m not.

I indulged this weekend. I’m one day into the post-visiting-Aussie cleanse. And besides, I’m not giving up anything for Lent… and isn’t that the whole point?

Maintaining really is a bitch!

Leave a comment