An Open Letter to Seattle

Dear Seattle,

I don’t trust you for a second.

I see what you are trying to do here. You are coaxing tiny little pink flowers out of the cherry trees on campus. You plopped a cute little daffodil next to the path I take to the coffee shop. You, right now, have the audacity to paint a hint of blue in the sky.

You are trying to make me think that Spring is coming. You’re trying to make me hope.

Well, Seattle, I’m no fool. Granted, I’m not a native, but I’ve lived here long enough to know that you are a lying, evil temptress. You seduce me with pastel flowers, with glimpses of blue, with – just maybe – a warm ray of sunshine…and then you follow up with several more months of rain, or maybe a crazy downpour like yesterday’s. Don’t even get me started on last year’s performance!

I’m no longer naive enough to fall for your lies. I’ll believe it’s Spring…well… when the calendar says so, and in name only, because who knows what particular tantrum you will be throwing then.

You’re a fickle mistress, Seattle.

Sincerely,

Jenni

**My apologies for being so damn depressing. Yes, it’s (half) beautiful today, but I don’t trust it, not even a little, not even for one second…)

Leave a Reply

