Holy delicious risotto

My friend Jen, who writes A Pinch of Pork, posted what very well be my dream meal the other day. She is currently living in the UK, and, in honor (honour?) of that, called it “BBC risotto with bacon crumbly bits.”

Risotto with butternut squash, blue cheese, and bacon?

Holy shit.

Never mind that Aussie doesn’t particularly like blue cheese. Never mind that he’s not the world’s biggest fan of butternut squash, either. I NEEDED this risotto!

So, last night, I made it. I made only a couple teeny-tiny alterations: I drained the bacon fat from the pan before sauteing the onions (I just couldn’t bring myself to eat all that fat!), used 20 oz of frozen squash instead of 16 (is more squash ever a bad thing?), and I used the least offensive blue cheese I could find at Whole Foods instead of Jen’s recommendation for a strong version (my concession to the blue-cheese hater).

It was FANTASTIC. It was like the most amazing grown-up mac and cheese, if that makes any sense. And you know what? Aussie even liked it! Amazing!

So, thanks for the recipe, Jen! I LOVED it!

**For anyone following Weight Watchers out there: If you make it into 7 servings instead of 6 (I found that to still be an incredibly generous serving, since this stuff is pretty decadent), it comes to 11 PointsPlus. Honestly, for how incredibly indulgent it tastes, that’s not shabby at all!!

3 thoughts on “Holy delicious risotto

  1. Thanks Jenni! So happy it turned out well!

    • Jenni says:

      Yeah, I’d say so! It was amazing. I was blown away by how much Matt liked it — he pretty much HATES anything that sort of tastes like blue cheese, and he was mmm-ing and yum-ing all through dinner! I can’t wait to have leftovers for lunch. Thanks for sharing the recipe! 🙂

  2. Jen says:

    Mmmm. I have to try this one.

Leave a Reply

