Sausage and Squash and Lentils… oh my!

Gee, how long as it been since I’ve posted a recipe? Don’t answer that… it’s been quite possibly forever.

My to-be sister-in-law (WHAT?!?) sent me this recipe once I got back from Australia. As I was making it, I was like — hey! This is just like lentil soup! But, well, it isn’t, really. Well, sort of… but with a twist.

I’m making no sense, right? Anyway, I love me some lentil soup, but this stuff had me moaning and licking my spoon with extra gusto.

Yes, TMI.

Anyway, here’s the recipe. I translated into American for you… I’m nice like that!

Sausage and Squash Lentils, adapted from Alexandra’s recipe.

3 tsp olive oil

2 sausages. I used mild Italian chicken sausage (instead of “chevapis,” whatever that is). I suspect chevapis is heavier and fattier, but oh well! You use what you got!

1 yellow onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 heaping tsp fennel seeds (CRUCIAL!)

1/8 heaping tsp chili powder (I was out of paprika, and yes, I know they aren’t the same even though they are both red!. Regardless, it was good).

2 medium carrots, peeled and chopped into 1/2″ bits

(optional) 2 stalks celery, chopped into 1/2″ bits (my celery was limp by the time I got to it, so I didn’t use it. Can’t say it’s crucial!)

1 package frozen butternut squash (I estimate about 2 cups), thawed

13 oz green lentils

1 bay leaf

1 heaping tsp dried thyme

4 cups water

2 cups low-sodium chicken broth

1/4 cup cilantro leaves

Heat the 2 tsp of the oil in a medium frying pan over medium-high heat. Cut the sausage into pieces (you could remove the casing, but I was being lazy) and cook until evenly browned. Break up into medium-sized pieces with a wooden spoon while cooking. Remove sausage from heat and set aside.

Meanwhile, in a large saucepan, heat the remaining 1 tsp of oil, add onions, garlic, and fennel seeds, and cook for 3 minutes, stirring often. Add chili powder (or paprika, if you want to follow the rules!) and stir to coat, then cook one more minute. Add carrots, celery (if using), and squash, and cook for 4 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add lentils, bay leaf, thyme, water, and broth, and bring to a boil. Reduce to simmer and cook, covered for 30 minutes. Return sausage to pan and season with pepper and salt to taste.

Garnish with cilantro to serve.

Serves 6
6 PointsPlus per (hearty!) serving!
Thanks, Alexandra!!
Leave a Reply

