Lazy days

Right. It’s been forever. I don’t even have an excuse this time. I haven’t been particularly busy, but I haven’t been particularly exciting, either.

My summer has been, well, lazy. Aussie and I have spent time getting back into the swing of things, sleeping in on the weekends and eating leisurely breakfasts, having weekly date nights and exploring our city, plodding our way through “McLeod’s Daughters.” I’d almost feel guilty about our inertia, but, well, the weather isn’t exactly pushing us to action.

That leisurely pace essentially ends now, though. Starting this weekend, it’s WEDDING SEASON (you know what I mean!). In just over three weeks, we’ll be on our way to Australia for what will be the longest vacation of my life (ohmygod, I can’t wait). And then… whoa. It will be September.

Where is this non-summer summer going?

In case you think I’ve been luxuriating far too much in the diminished responsibilities of summer, behold:

It only took me 5 years to get to a farmer’s market… and all Matt and I wanted to make with our spoils was pizza! Fresh peas, artisan sausage, and spinach from the market added to the ricotta, pesto, and parmesan in our fridge made for a very tasty pie.

My ice-cream experimentation continues, this time with Strawberry Sour Cream Ice Cream (recipe, of course, from The Perfect Scoop). Best ice cream ever? Quite possibly. Unfortunately, we aren’t eating enough ice cream to keep up with my making of it, so I’ve got to slow down on this!

My child-self looooved stuffed shells (really, what’s not to love?), but at some point Mom stopped making them. Probably something to do with too much cheese and carbs. So, I made them for my adult-self… and I am still deeply in love (because, REALLY, what’s not to love)? I cooked them in two pie pan and made cute little spirals out of the shells. Really, love. Recipe from 101cookbooks, although I took the lazy route and used jarred sauce.

It took me THIRTEEN MONTHS to finish these socks. One is about an inch taller than the other. Nobody’s perfect. (For the curious: Grumperina’s “Jaywalker Socks,” Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino in an unknown colorway).

Aaaaand… that’s all for now. Pardon the thoroughly uninspired sign-off.

4 thoughts on “Lazy days

  1. garpu says:

    oooh. Very nice on the socks! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Daniel says:

    Nice pizza – next time, make it in a pan and throw that baby under the broiler!

    Or not. It is sort of a hassle. And you have to turn the smoke alarms off. But, you know, the price we pay for good food.

Leave a Reply

