Just like that.

And just like that, it’s over!

This past weekend, I flew to Southern California for the last time in what I hope is a very long time. Aussie and I then drove the (very) long road home.

Our January road trip seems like such a long time ago. I tried to be optimistic about the long-distance thing, but honestly, it’s been much longer and much harder than I ever imagined.

We had good times, of course. We visited beaches and Disneyland and I got to trade in the Seattle gloom for some sun. Still, most of this experience was soul-sucking to the extreme. You can’t hold someone over the phone, and a half-empty bed just feels lonelier and lonelier as time goes by.

I’ve made ten trips to four airports in the greater LA area since October. I’m over halfway to MVP status on Alaska Airlines from the last six months alone. I’ve had exactly four weekends that didn’t involve an airport or train station. Emotionally, physically — you name it –, I’m exhausted.

But that’s all over now. This morning, I gave Aussie a kiss as he left for work, not as he boarded a plane. And tonight, he’ll come home, and we’ll have dinner together, and we’ll do it all again tomorrow.

I can’t wait to start this new chapter. Here goes!

Leave a Reply

