Ice Cream Plus

I got Lady Gaga’s new album today for $.99 on Amazon mp3. It took basically forever to download, but for $15 off, I could care less. I like it. I will likely love it. It *might* get me to walk/jog around the lake. We’ll see.

Aussie might be done with his SoCal assignment next Friday. Or three Mondays from today. Either way, this shit is almost over! Did you know we’ve now lived apart twice as long as we lived together? It’s true.

I went shopping this weekend. I needed to buy bottoms… and ended up with three strapless dresses and one t-shirt. Go me.

Anyway… this wasn’t supposed to be a list of crap going through my head.

This was supposed to be about ice cream.

Remember that ice cream I made for my birthday dinner?

This one?

Want the recipe?

Of course you do!!

Chocolate Oreo Ice Cream, adapted from Alton Brown

This wasn’t my first attempt at ice cream. First I tried making mint oreo ice cream. I wasn’t satisfied using peppermint extract, though. No, I had to make it the hard way and use mint leaves… and it tasted like crap. Or, more specifically, it tasted like basil (and before you judge, yes, I did use a recipe, and no, it isn’t the only mint-leaf ice cream recipe out there!).

Anyway, after such a massive failure, I decided to do something I KNEW would be good…like something involving Alton Brown and chocolate (mind out of the gutter, folks). I halved Alton’s recipe, used slightly less fatty milk, and rushed all the cooling. Then I added oreos, because everything is better with oreos (duh).

It was amazing.

3/4 oz unsweeted cocoa powder

1 cup whole milk

1 cup heavy cream

4 egg yolks

4.5 oz sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

15 oreos (or similiar — I used the Whole Foods brand), crushed into big pieces

Put the cocoa powder and 1/3 cup of the whole milk together in a medium saucepan, place over medium heat, and whisk to combine. Add the rest of the milk and all of the cream. Bring the mixture just to a simmer, stirring occasionally, then remove from heat.

In a medium bowl, whisk the egg yolks until they lighten in color. Add the sugar and whisk to combine. Gradually add about 1/3 of the cream mixture, combining between each addition. Then pour in the remainder of the cream mixture, return to the saucepan, and place over medium-low heat. Cook, stirring frequently, until the mixture reaches 170-175F (it should have thickened slightly and coat the back of a wooden spoon).

Pour mixture in a container and let sit at room temperature for 30 mins. Stir in vanilla. Alton then recommends putting the mixture in the fridge for 4-8 hours until it reaches 40F or below. I don’t have that kind of patience, so I cooled it in a cold-water bath and in the freezer until it was about 70F. Guess what? It still worked!

Pour into an ice cream maker and process according to the manufacturer’s directions. This should take about 25-35 minutes.

This can be eaten immediately as (very) soft-serve, but it tastes better after several hours of freezing.

2 thoughts on “Ice Cream Plus

  1. Jen says:

    Hee thanks for the tip on the deal! Can’t beat a buck! πŸ™‚ Got it downloading.

Leave a Reply

