Attempting Anchovies

Oh, anchovies. You are gross. You have tiny little bones. You smell like cat food. Ew.

But tonight, I gave you a chance. A recipe** caught my eye, and while I could have taken the easy way out, I seized the day…

And wow, anchovies. WOW! I may have been wrong about you. I mean, you still smell like cat food, but I think you played a big part in making this dish sing.

In celebration, I will now eat as many TJ’s Dark Chocolate Nibs as I can stomach. Yum.

**The recipe was for Pasta with Cauliflower from Gina’s Skinny Recipes. Sounds boring, right? Except totally not. So very good.

8 thoughts on “Attempting Anchovies

  1. Matt says:

    Anchovies….. another source of umami? 😉

  2. sandra says:

    is the many TJ’s Dark Chocolate Nibs for the cat food taste/smell still? or just a dessert after? 😀

  3. Jen says:

    A lot of Korean food uses dried anchovies in the base broth. Once you get used to handling them, it’s not so bad, and you can really taste the difference with them not there.

Leave a Reply

