My lunch is the best lunch

Few things make me happier than a tasty lunch. I like it even better than the dinner it likely came from. It doesn’t usually taste better… it just makes me happier. Does that makes sense?

Yeah, probably not.

Today I have leftover “Roast Pork Dinner.” I’m so kicking myself for halving the recipe!

 

Roast Pork Dinner, adapted from Weight Watchers.com

I am really, really, criminally bad at halving recipes. I’m fine at math — I just tend to forget I’m halving it somewhere along the way, usually when it gets to spices or baking powder or something. No disasters yet… in fact, I suspect this dish actually tastes even better because of my mistakes! Anyway, this is delicious. The servings are pretty small (since it’s a Weight Watchers recipe, they are ACTUAL serving-sized servings, not the mammoth “servings” we’re all used to here in the US), but they pack a punch. Yum!

cooking spray

1 Tbsp + 1/2 tsp olive oil

2 cloves garlic, minced.

1 Tbsp fennel seed

1 1/2 tsp dried oregano

1 1/2 tsp + a bit salt

1 1/2 tsp + a bit pepper

1 lb lean pork loin

1 medium green bell pepper, cut into 8 wedges

1 red onion, cut into 12 wedges

12 baby red potatoes

Preheat oven to 400F. Line a roasting pan with foil and coat with cooking spray.

Combine 1 tablespoon of the oil, garlic, fennel seeds, oregano, 1 1/2 teaspoons of the salt, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of the pepper. Rub over the pork and place pork in the pan.

Add vegetables and potatoes to the pan. Drizzle with the remaining olive oil and lightly spray with cooking spray. Sprinkle some salt and pepper on top.

Roast uncovered until internal temperature measures 160F. For me, this took close to an hour, but I was checking the damn thing ever 15 mins or so… and still ended up overcooking! But no fear, it was delicious and tender and wonderful. If you can keep yourself from compulsive checking, I’d guess it would take about 45 mins for a 1-lb roast.

Let roast sit for 10 mins before slicing. Slice and serve with vegetables. Spoon any juices over pork.

Serves 4, PointsPLUS value of 10 per serving.

Leave a Reply

