Hump Day

Yesterday just about knocked me flat.

I slept restlessly last night and could hardly peel myself out of my warm bed.

My car (the car that I JUST registered in my name on Saturday) wouldn’t start. I decided to take the bus, but upon 1) missing the bus, then 2) realizing my bus pass was at home, I gave up. All I can say is thank goodness for AAA! They fixed my car for free. Instant love.

I got to work only to hurry off to a donor advisory board meeting. Nothing quite strikes dread into my heart like the phrase “donor advisory board meeting”…

Except… well… “scheduling voice auditions.” I swear, I’d rather try to figure out what kind of health insurance to buy. It’s that complicated.

This just so happens to be my busiest time of year. Today I realized it’s not so much the busy-ness that gets to me; rather, it’s that everyone needs me… and they need me NOW. It’s just, well, exhausting.

To cap it off, the fire alarm went off at 4pm. It was freezing. Luckily, one of the choirs was mid-rehearsal and continued singing outside, which was nice, but otherwise it was just icing on the shit-cake of the day for me.

All I have to say is this:

Thank god for AAA, my wonderful and mood-changing a cappella group, and leftover pumpkin mac and cheese!

Pumpkin Mac and Cheese from Healthy Food for Living

Warm and cheesy and comforting, just like regular mac and cheese — but with a twist. Pumpkin seems like an odd addition, but it gives a nice flavor and dramatically reduces the amount of cheese you need, which makes it a healthy substitute. As my friend E*Beth put it, it’s just as creamy as regular mac and cheese, but light enough so you can eat lots. Thanks to my choir buddy Maren for recommending this to me!

8 oz uncooked whole wheat macaroni (or other pasta)

1 cup pumpkin puree (I used some of my homemade stuff!)

1 cup 1% milk

2 oz neufchatel cheese (or 1/3 reduced fat cream cheese)

1 cup grated 2% sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 cup grated gruyere cheese

1/8 tsp nutmeg

1/8-1/4 tsp ground cayenne (I did 1/8, but I’d use at least double next time!)

salt and pepper to taste

Cook pasta and drain.

Meanwhile, whisk together pumpkin and milk in a saucepan over medium heat until hot. Reduce heat to low, and whisk in cheeses until melted. Stir in spices.

Stir pasta into pumpkin-cheese sauce and mix. Let sit until sauce is thickened (it will keep thickening, though, as I found out — I let it sit a bit too long).

And… that’s it! Super easy, tasty, and makes a surprising amount. Serves 4, with a PointsPlus value of 10 per serving.

2 thoughts on “Hump Day

  1. Erin says:

    It’s nice to be so needed!

Leave a Reply

