Soup weather!

I have to admit — after our never-actually summer, I was completely dreading fall. I didn’t want the rain. I didn’t want the dark. I didn’t want the cold and the closed-toed shoes and the need for space-heaters.

But…. I’m kind of enjoying fall. As if to make up for our shitty summer, it’s GORGEOUS here in the Pacific Northwest. Monday’s monsoon notwithstanding, fall has so far been full of bright blue skies, changing leaves, and just enough of a nip in the air to make you put on a scarf. Beautiful!

I realized a couple weeks ago (because I honestly and inexplicably had forgotten) that, since it was fall, I should probably pull out the crock pot. And since the crock pot was out, I should probably fill it with soup. I usually go for split pea, but yesterday, I wanted something different, so I tried lentils.

I’ve been trying (and steadily progressing!!) to get back to my goal weight in time for my trip to Mexico, so I decided to try out a Weight Watchers recipe. Luckily for me, they had a no-nonsense recipe for lentil soup made in a crockpot. Jackpot!!

(photo from http://www.weightwatchers.com)

This soup is delicious. Warm, hearty, flavorful… I love it!

You can find the recipe at WeightWatchers.com. My only edit was leaving it in the crockpot for 9 hours instead of 6… because I have to work (duh)! I did not follow the note to thicken the soup, since it was perfect as-is. I would recommend using low-sodium broth so that you can salt to taste. I got seven servings (instead of the suggested eight) out of this, which makes each serving 5 POINTS. Not too shabby at all!

Plus, with all those servings, my freezer is now full of cute little tupperwared soups, all ready to come with me to work or to be nuked into a nice, quick dinner. Love it!

4 thoughts on “Soup weather!

  1. Matt says:

    Make me some? 🙂

    As you know I’m incapable of making anything for myself 😉

  2. allison says:

    Wow! That looks super delicious, with those giant chunks of carrot. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Jenni says:

      It actually looks like that, too — it’s not just impressive food styling! The carrots do maintain their shape, even after an extra-long time in the crockpot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

