Time for Tea?

It’s Thursday night. Aussie’s in Moses Lake. I’m waiting for Project Runway to come on. I’m devastatingly bored. Do you know how very little is on all 9-billion channels there are? It’s bleak. I have literally been reduced to watching “Golden Girls.” True story.

To entertain myself, I made shortbread. Cute, bitty, shortbread cookies. Perfect for tea.

I almost never drink tea, but for these cookies, I would do pretty much drink anything!

(I bought this tea at an outdoor market in Latvia. Since the label is in Latvian, all I know is that it’s tea for women, and I shouldn’t drink it too often. A bit unnerving!)

These cookies are lovely! They are buttery and sweet, with a touch of salt that  gives them a little something extra. I made them tiny so that I could feel dainty.

I am so not dainty.

Salted Browned Butter Shortbread Cookies, adapted from Souffle Days.

1/2 cup unsalted butter, browned and cooled to room temperature

1/2 cup salted butter, room temperature (you can also use unsalted… just use more kosher salt later)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 pinch kosher salt

sea salt

For instructions on how to brown butter, check out this post on Simply Recipes.

Cream butters and sugar together with an electric mixer. Add vanilla, mix in. Slowly add the flour and kosher salt; mix just until combined. You may have to switch from a mixer to a spoon halfway through adding the flour as the dough gets really thick.

Shape the dough into a long, thin log (I needed to chill it for about 5 minutes to make it easier to handle). I wanted to get a LOT of cookies out of this (more cookies = fewer POINTS… and these ended up being only 1 POINT each!!), so I ended up with a two logs totaling about a foot in length. Refrigerate the dough for at least a half an hour. While the dough is chilling, preheat the oven to 350F.

When the dough is chilled, cut into 1/4″ slices. Work quickly – as the dough heats up, it gets harder to handle. Put cookies on baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake for 9-10 minutes or until the edges are barely browned… they keep getting darker as they cool, and my first batch ended up too dark. Sprinkle the cookies with a little sea salt immediately after removing from oven.

Good warm, good cool, good for getting buttery fingers on your keyboard!

5 thoughts on “Time for Tea?

  1. sandra says:

    that means it might have phytoestrogen in them…

  2. Matt says:

    Better keep me some!!!!!!!

    😀

  3. […] buds of lavender don’t pack a big punch. I can’t say I like it quite as much as the Salted Browned Butter Shortbread Cookies I made once, but it fits a […]

Leave a Reply

