Dirtying a Clean Kitchen with Nutty Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

This morning, I scrubbed the house. It’s been a long time in coming and, honestly, an exercise in the futility of getting a man to help you clean. So, since Aussie is off in scenic (ha!) Moses Lake on his first work trip, I figured I’d pump up some Lady Gaga and Pink to get to work.

Two hours later, as I looked at my sparkling kitchen, I thought it would be an excellent idea to make some cookies!

Why oh why did I decide to dirty my beautiful kitchen mere minutes after cleaning it?!? Perhaps it was because, if a house looks good, it should SMELL good, and few things smell as good as baking cookies? Maybe it was because of the spectacular disaster that were the vegan chocolate cupcakes with rosewater buttercream I attempted earlier this week (this was, incidentally, the first time I’ve messed up something so bad I’ve THROWN IT AWAY — when will I learn not to mess with a recipe on my first try?)? Maybe it was just because I was on a domestic goddess roll? Or maybe it was because I was a little lonesome without my Aussie, and baking makes me happy?

Whatever… it doesn’t matter. All that matters is my perfect kitchen ended up looking like this:

Blech.

Well, thankfully, it’s clean once more, and thanks to the oatmeal cookies baking away in the oven, my apartment smells like a home!

And besides, is there ANYTHING more delicious than oatmeal cookie dough? I think not!

I took a regular oatmeal cookie recipe and tweaked it, adding chopped nuts, chocolate chips, and a splash of bourbon. The result was dense, moist, and heartier than your average oatmeal cookie. These cookies taste like comfort and home…just what I needed today.

Nutty Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies (adapted from the recipe on the inside of the Quaker Oats box!)

I love oatmeal cookies so much that I’ll actually eat raisins for them, and the Vanishing Oatmeal Cookie recipe on the inside of the Quaker Oats box is oh-so-yummy. I had a bunch of nuts left over in my cupboard from some granola bars I made a while ago, plus a mostly-full bag of chocolate chips. I thought it would be safer to cook these into something than leave them for me to keep snacking on, so I came up with this variation on that trusty Quaker Oats recipe. You could of course use all white sugar instead of half raw (I just thought it might taste better this way), all vanilla instead of half bourbon (I ran out of vanilla but had LOTS of bourbon on hand!), and whatever kind of nuts you have on hand.

1/2 c + 6 tbsp unsalted butter

3/4 c firmly packed brown sugar

1/4 c sugar

1/4 c raw sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp bourbon

1 1/2 c flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

2 3/4 c oats

1 c chocolate chips (I used bittersweet)

3/4 c chopped almonds

1/4 c chopped cashews

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking tray with parchment paper (oh parchment paper! What did I do before I found you?!?).

In a large bowl, beat butter and sugars with a hand mixer until creamy, about 3 mins. Add eggs one at a time, beating between each addition. Add vanilla and boubon, and mix well.

Mix flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a small bowl. Add one third of the mixture at a time to the wet ingredients, mixing with a spoon in between each addition. Add oats, a little at at time, and mix between each addition. Add nuts and mix. Add chocolate chips and mix until everything is well combined.

Drop heaping tablespoons of batter onto the cookie sheet. Bake 8-10 mins (9 was perfect for the chewy cookies I prefer!). Let cool on the tray one minute, than transfer to a rack to cool completely.

Eat and get that cozy, home-y feeling. Smile. Repeat.


Leave a Reply

