In the absence of a camera…

Funny story:

On Sunday, Aussie and I were supposed to go flying, but the crap-tastic Seattle weather prevented it. (Once again, thank you, Seattle, for this marvelous summer you are giving us! *mutter, grumble, groan.*) Since we were already at the airport, though, we figured we’d stick around to watch the Blue Angels take off for their Seafair show.

I had (of course, since it lives in my purse) brought my camera, and Aussie set to work taking pictures.

What’s this? Oh no! A speck in the lens! How irritating!

I was a little bummed, but oh well. I’d get it out, or whatever. No biggie.

Well, that didn’t go over so well with Aussie. He’s an engineer, see. So, rather than just leave it be, he tried to FIX it. He molded his lips over the lens and started blowing.

At this point, one speck became six!

So he decided to suck instead. No luck. (Let’s pause for a second to imagine what you would think if you saw your boyfriend sucking and blowing a camera lens. Got that lovely mental image? Ok, good… now to continue).

Since sucking didn’t work, Aussie, had another idea:

Aussie: “Can I take it apart and clean it when we get home?”

Me: (thinking – “yup, I totally saw this coming”) “Ok, but if you break it, you buy me a new one.”

Aussie: “Deal!”

We went home, and after four hours of tiny screwdrivers, tinier screws, and taking it apart and putting it together and taking it apart and cleaning…

Well, guess who’s getting a new camera? 🙂

(I should note that Aussie did actually get it back together, clean and working. He just happened to break a teeny tiny (and very important to colors, it seems) piece of glass along the way — thus resulting in a new camera for moi.)

Now, since I don’t have a camera, I can’t be all flashy in this post about how I tackled The Martha, thought I failed, but really emerged triumphant, so I’ll just have to leave you with a recipe:

Better-Than-Matha’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk Oatmeal Cookies, adapted from Martha Stewart

It was a crappy November August day, and I wanted to bake — and not just bake, but EXPERIMENT. I wanted cookies, and I wanted them to have peanut butter, oatmeal, and maybe some (but not too much) chocolate. I definitely didn’t want the chocolate to overpower the peanut butter as so often happens in these kind of cookies. Martha’s recipe sounded good, but here’s the thing: there wasn’t NEARLY enough peanut butter, and WAY too much chocolate! And, well, I didn’t exactly have the right ingredients. And I only wanted a half batch. So, well, I improvised on The Martha… and I think I did a pretty dang good job!

Really important: these cookies taste like crap right outside the oven. So much so that I might have had a tiny little hissy fit and refused to eat them. But then something magical happened — that night, they tasted pretty good. The next morning, they were getting really yum. And by the next afternoon, it was damn-near impossible to get me to stop eating them. They got thumbs-up from my coworkers, who said they were like “breakfast cookies” and “like eating potato chips and cookies at the same time” (which leads me to believe they would be perfect for PMS-time, if you don’t mind the suggestion!). Interesting reviews, but if you’re in the mood for something not-too-sweet, just a bit different, and that you can at least pretend is healthy, give these a shot!

Makes 2-3 dozen cookies

2.5 c uncooked oatmeal (not quick-cooking)

1/6 c whole-wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 c packed light brown sugar

1/2 c + more granulated sugar

1/2 c salted butter

1/2 c peanut butter (I used all-natural, freshly ground, and would suggest you use something like this if you want a less-sweet cookie)

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 c dry roasted, unsalted peanuts

1/2 c chopped chocolate bar (chocolate chips would also work, but I had leftover gourmet chocolate from another baking experiment, so I used that)

1/2 c desiccated coconut (i.e. unsweetened and finely chopped)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Combine oats, flour, baking soda, and baking powder in a medium bowl. Set aside.

In a large bowl, use an electric mixer to beat 1/2 c granulated sugar, the brown sugar, and the peanut butter until pale and fluffy (takes about 5 minutes). Add eggs (one at a time) and vanilla, and mix.

Switch out mixer for a spoon. Add oat mixture and stir until just combined. Add peanuts, chocolate chunks, and coconut, and stir together.

Form balls of dough (I used a partly-filled ice cream scoop to measure), roll between your hands, and then roll in some of the extra granulated sugar to coat. Place on baking sheets with plenty of room between — they spread! (I pressed some down with a fork, peanut-butter cookie-style, but they got a bit crispy for my taste. You could go either way).

Bake for 13-15 minutes (I went for 15), then cool on the trays on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Remove from tray and let cool completely — maybe for a day so they get really good!

4 thoughts on “In the absence of a camera…

  1. Matt says:

    I’d just like to defend myself a little more and state that it was only when I was putting it back together the second time that I got a titch impatient and thought I could ‘slide’ the Image Sensor a fraction (about 0.5mm) to get it into place as opposed to placing it in the correct spot (as I did the first time around) that lead to the cover glass cracking!

    🙂

  2. Soo says:

    ahahahaha if you are not so particular about the brand name for the new camera, take a look at Samsung PL150. It’s got dual LCD…

    • Jenni says:

      Ooh, cool! I’m not so particular, but Matt just got me a replacement for what I had – just a newer model. It’s a Panasonic Lumix DS20 or 25– can’t remember! But this time it’s silver instead of black, which is, of course, the important part! 🙂

Leave a Reply

