Lamington Cupcakes

I’m home sick… and when I’m sick, for some reason, I like to bake. Makes no sense, but whatever. Besides, I can only watch so many episodes of “Say Yes to the Dress,” right?

Ok… I lie. I can watch unlimited episodes of “Say Yes to the Dress.” But after exhausting Netflix, On Demand, and the regular episodes on TLC, I had to come up with another way to keep myself occupied! (Phew! As I write this, a mini-marathon starts! YAY!)

A week or so ago, Aussie got some frozen chicken and asparagus pies from the Australian Pie Company, which we’ve been eagerly looking forward to eating. I thought I might as well make it an all-(or mostly) Australian night, so I decided to attempt the Lamington Cupcakes that didn’t turn out so well last time. This time, I used finely grated unsweetened coconut (Whole Foods sells this, and it’s a good substitute for dessicated coconut), and I sprayed the cupcake wrappers so they wouldn’t stick (the liner box claims they don’t need to be greased — it lies!).

They turned out so well!! They didn’t stick to the liners…

They weren’t sickeningly sweet…

And Aussie jumped up and down and clapped when he tasted them!! SUCCESS!!

Of course, they don’t taste exactly like regular lamingtons, but they are a nice little homage. Definitely a tasty, lighter dessert when you are looking for a little sweet something.

Lamington Cupcakes from O Pistachio

1 1/4 cup all-purpose unbleached white flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/3 cup + 1 cup more (although you won’t use it all!) finely grated unsweetened coconut

3/4 stick unsalted butter

3/4 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla

1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons milk

1 cup powdered sugar

1 Tablespoon cocoa

very hot water

Preheat oven to 350F. Line muffin tin with cupcake liners and grease (this recipe made 11 cupcakes for me, but I would plan on 10-12). In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt, and 1/3 cup coconut. In a medium bowl, cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating between additions. Add vanilla; beat. Alternate additions of flour mixture and milk (I did 2 additions of each). Make sure to scrape the sides of the bowl so that everything gets mixed.

Fill cupcake liners about 2/3 full. Bake for 20-22 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Once cupcakes are cool cool, make chocolate icing: sift powdered sugar and cocoa and mix together. Add hot water a teaspoonful at a time, or less, until you have the consistency you want. It should be pretty thick. I used 3.5 teaspoons to start, and then another .5 teaspoon later as it continued to thicken.

Get two bowls ready: one with the chocolate icing, and one with some coconut. Dip each cupcake into the icing, and then into the coconut. Let icing set before eating.

Leave a Reply

