Faux Counter Burgers: Get in my bellah!

Only something truly delish would cause me to quote Fat Bastard in a title… and this meal was seriously delish!

You may (or more likely, may not!) remember that awhile ago I mentioned a damned tasty burger I had at The Counter. Oh my god, it was so good.

On Sunday night, I had a serious craving for a Counter burger. Well, really, I had two days’ worth of cravings for Counter burgers… it just hit its peak on Sunday night.

Of course, Sunday night also corresponded with the night Aussie said he definitely didn’t feel like going out for dinner. I asked him if that meant he was going to cook… but I didn’t really mean it. Since I was being cock-blocked from my Counter burger, I wanted to take matters into my own hands!

(No, I didn’t put my big-girl pants on and go by myself, although that would have been smart and badass and see-if-I-care-that-you-are-driving-a-wedge-between-me-and-my-meat. I took the far less independent track and just decided to make my own version at home. Lame.)

There are some good things about making your own faux Counter burgers instead of having the blessedly-delicious original. You can know exactly how many POINTS they can set you back. You can avoid the temptation of a milkshake. You can pair them with baked (not fried) fries. You can return cock-block your boyfriend by not adding bacon. Mwa ha ha.

So, I started with a 1/4 lb Jenni burger (I usually put feta, balsamic vinegar (the blackberry variety from Pike Place, if possible), rosemary, sea salt, and freshly ground black pepper — and yes, I’m going to name it after myself) sandwiched in a Thomas’ Light Multigrain English Muffin. I made a plate of toppings. I added some sweet potato fries (my favorite recipe, although I skim on the olive oil). Then we went to town.

Pardon the terrible pictures, but here they are:

Mine was topped with fancy-pants lettuce (you know the kind I mean), caramelized onions, ketchup, dijon mustard, and avocado (because I’m thoroughly obsessed and could eat it 10 times a day… no joke).

Aussie’s was topped with fancy-pants lettuce, caramelized onions, tomato (blech), and a fried egg. He wanted pineapple too, but I forgot to cut it up. Oops.

Insanely difficult to eat, but yum. Yum yum yum!

So, if you are lucky enough to live in a city that is lucky enough to have The Counter, GO. If you don’t, or your boyfriend likes to keep you from getting your meat (uncool!), make your own and have slightly less clogged arteries. Either way, enjoy a damned good burger.

Leave a Reply

