I’m baaack…. with socks!

Goodness, bad Jenni. I have neglected you, little blog. I am sorry.

To apologize, I’m going to show you some pretty pictures today, ok? OK??

So, remember that pretty yarn I bought months ago to make Aussie a much begged-for pair of socks? No? Well, maybe this will help:

Maybe that rings a bell. It was so pretty — green and purply and brownish… loved it! I was so excited to knit some kick-ass socks with it!

Well, then Aussie picked the most boring pattern known to man. I wanted to knit him something spectacular… but he wanted plain ol’ boring… and picked a pattern with endless diamonds.

I’m no fan of knitting texture. I like knitting features, but texture makes me want to claw my eyes out.

*Sigh* See what I do for love?

So, finally, three months later, after pissing and moaning and sighing and humphing about how boring these socks are (I can be such a whiner sometimes!), I finally finished them!

Wait, WHAT? I ended up knitting CAMOUFLAGE socks?

*Sigh* Yes I did.

And even though the knitting of them made my soul die a little, the giving of them made my heart soar. Aussie was SO HAPPY… happy enough to do girly little poses like this one!

All in all, they came out pretty cute, and I have a very happy Aussie on my hands, so all is good.

THEN!

Since those were out of the way, I could finally finally FINALLY knit something that more accurately reflected my own sensibilities. Having sat on a super-cute pattern for fingerless gloves since, well, I bought the camo yarn, I was ready to dive in.

One day and 18 episodes of “Say Yes to the Dress” later (poor Aussie!!), I ended up with these!

Aren’t they cuuuuute? They’re even cuter on!


So glad my nails don’t look like junk!

Not quite as dainty as I envisioned, but still so cute! I love the faux seams framing the thumb. But I really should be holding a cup of tea or something…

Oh, snap! (Shh… the cup is totally a prop. It’s empty. I’m a big liar.)

I love my new glovies so much that I’m going to start another pair this weekend, this time in a yarn that’s a bit more summery… not that the lovely Pacific Northwest weather is giving me any reason to pick a lighter yarn!

(Hint, Seattle: Bring on the sunshine!)

6 thoughts on “I’m baaack…. with socks!

  1. Jen says:

    Very nice! 🙂 Socks are so much fun!

  2. Matt says:

    Make me another pair and I promise to pick a super fancy pattern! 🙂

  3. Soo says:

    OH Jenni,

    Can you knit me a pair of those fingerless gloves? The practice rooms here are freezing in the fall-winter-spring time. I would love love love to wear my gloves while practicing, except if I wear them, I can’t play.

Leave a Reply

