Kale Chips? No thank you

I’ve heard some buzz about kale chips lately. A friend of my said she makes them often, and that they were oh-so-tasty. They came up on a trusted blog that I won’t mention here. They are meant to be crunchy, salty, delicious, an easy way to get a ton of vitamins and such in one sitting, and even a passable substitute for potato chips. I used kale recently in a recipe and enjoyed it, so I figured, why not?

Well, I’ll tell you why not.

(photo from http://www.veggiecurious.com)

EW!!!

They smell so strongly of overcooked Brussels sprouts that even hiding them away in heavy duty plastic bags won’t keep the whiffs away. They are NOT pretty. They cause some uncomfortable stomach problems. And worst of all? They just don’t taste good!

I should have realized all this when I got the recipe from the website of a hyper, pregnant nutritionist, but alas, I was blinded by potential.

Did I do something wrong? Should I have used more oil? Should I have used more salt?

Whatever… doesn’t matter. These puppies will likely never grace my life again.

Cooking FAIL.

6 thoughts on “Kale Chips? No thank you

  1. Jen says:

    Sad kale chips look sad…

  2. Helen says:

    Ew is right. Kale chips get a big thumbs down. Sweet potato chips and beet chips, aka sweets & beets, however, are delicious.

    • Jenni says:

      Sweet potato chips I totally believe… beet chips, however, sound weird. I’ll have to try them, though!

  3. Rusty Chips says:

    I could tell from the picture that you baked them in an oven because I made that mistake too. Tempting becasue it was quick and I wanted to have them right away…………a.major mistake.

    Slow and steady wins the day with a simple dehydrator several hours (6 to 10) of patience and wow you have the chips worth waiting for.

    Caution make plenty and try different flavorings in a batch you and your friends will never look at kale the same way again that I will gtd.

    All the best Rusty Chips

Leave a Reply

