Dear Diary…

For much of my life, I kept a diary. They started as a chronicle of my daily activities in my prepubescent years (Dear Diary: Today I went to school. Then I did homework. Then I went to bed), morphed into drama-central when I was a teen and in college (So-and-so is such a bitch! And my parents are torturing me! AUGH!), and eventually settled on quite introspection in late college and early adulthood (I wonder if I’ll ever figure out what I want to do with my life?). Sometimes I drew pictures, sometimes I inserted pictures and magazine clippings. Some of my diaries amuse me, while I don’t have the stomach to read through others — let’s face it, we don’t always love our younger selves!

Ever since the introduction of Aussie into my life, though, I have been horribly remiss at journaling. It’s so much nicer to spoon before going to bed than write, you know? Add in the instant gratification of journaling my mood through Facebook status updates and the fact that I’ve been able to talk through my feelings in this blog, and, well, you get for an empty journal. I simply don’t have the time or inclination to journal, but I still have the desire to keep a record of my life…because it’s so, um, interesting.

I was really excited, then, when I found this on Snippet & Ink:

(One Line A Day: A Five-Year Memory Book, $11.53 on Amazon.com)

One line a day? Well, hell, if I can update my facebook status once a day, I surely take the time to sum up my day in one measly sentence before bed.

The really neat thing is that you go through the book in a circle, basically, so that I’ll have five years worth of memories each day listed on one page. That means that, as time goes by, I’ll not only have a record, but I can review it daily… which will hopefully amuse more than mortify me, but you never know. That also means that I’ll be using the same journal until I’m 31. *Gulp*

I kind of love it. I’ve gone about two weeks now with no gaps, and because it’s so easy, I think I’ll be able to keep it up.

What about you? Do you journal often, or does life get in your way, too?

5 thoughts on “Dear Diary…

  1. soojeong says:

    hmmm this is a very good idea. I want one, too.

    • Jenni says:

      Can you get it in the UK? If you really want one and can’t, I could always ship one to you. 🙂

      • soojeong says:

        I found that the cheapest online is £7.22 with free delivery, so I ordered it. When did you start yours? If it allows to record for 5 years, maybe we can have a reunion party with our journals! And of course, I hope we can see each other again before that…

  2. Mary says:

    That is such a great idea! I might have to get myself one of those. I’ve kept a diary sporadically from age, oh, ten-ish. I have one that I still write in every six months or so, as it occurs to me. I really love going through my old journals and thinking about how far I’ve come. It’s generally pretty encouraging, until I come across those entries when I dreamed about the great things I’d do when I was grown up… Anyway, I like the idea of seeing the past few years’ thoughts as I write each day.

    • Jenni says:

      Yeah — old diaries can be great or incredibly disturbing/disappointing. I try to avoid my college ones. Eek!

      Let me know if you get it! I think it’s pretty darn cool… obviously. 🙂

Leave a Reply

