Recipe: Shakshuka!

I am in a foul mood today. Just trust me… stay away. It’s for your own safety.

I wasn’t in a bad mood on Friday, though! (But of course, who ISN’T in a good mood on Friday? And who IS in a good mood on Monday? I’m not so strange, now, am I?). I was in a good mood then…and in the mood to experiment!

A month or so ago, I saw a recipe on Noble Pig for eggs cooked in tomato sauce. I was intrigued, but frankly forgot all about it. Then on Friday, I saw a recipe for Shakshuka on Smitten Kitchen, and oh yum. I had to try it!

Shakshuka is an Israeli (or Libyan… the commenters were arguing) dish that is super-easy, tasty, comforting, and just a good for dinner with pitas as specified in the recipe or for breakfast on top of toast… or so I think. Plus, it’s fun to say.

Try it, won’t you? Let me know if you think it’s as tasty as I did! Oh, and for the record — I’m a big eater, and two eggs was definitely too much… too rich or something. Just a heads up.

Shakshuka from Smitten Kitchen

Serves 4-6

1/4 cup olive oil

5 Anaheim chilis or 3 jalapenos (I used 3 jalapenos, and it wasn’t spicy at all.)

1 small yellow onion, chopped

5 cloves of garlic, crushed then sliced

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tbsp paprika

1 28-oz can whole peeled tomatoes, undrained

kosher salt, to taste

6 eggs

1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled

1 tbsp flat-leaf parsley, chopped

warm pitas for serving

Heat oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. Add chiles and onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden brown, about 6 minutes. Add garlic, cumin, and paprika, and cook, stirring frequently, until garlic is soft, about 2 more minutes.

Put tomatoes and their liquid into a medium bowl and crush with your hands (note: That is SO GROSS! I crushed with a slotted spoon. It worked just fine. Ew). Add crushed tomatoes and their liquid to skillet along with 1/2 cup water, reduce heat to medium, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until thickened slightly, about 15 minutes. Season sauce with salt.

Crack eggs over sauce so that eggs are evenly distributed across sauce’s surface. Cover skillet and cook until yolks are just set, about 5 minutes. Using a spoon, baste the whites of the eggs with tomato mixture, being careful not to disturb the yolk. Sprinkle shakshuka with feta and parsley and serve with pitas, for dipping.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Recipe: Shakshuka!

  1. Ruth says:

    For Easter, a neighbor brought over his family Easter tradition – eggs poached in maple syrup. They were AMAZING, if a little gross looking. Sounds good!

    • Jenni says:

      Oo, I bet that was tasty. I always love the egg yolk/syrup combination when I put over-easy eggs on my pancakes… YUM! 🙂

  2. […] SHAKSHUKA!… or cheater shakshuka, since I was in no mood to go find myself chilis, feta, and parsley. […]

  3. […] first found this on Smitten Kitchen and while I have made it Deb’s way (so has Jenni, apparently!), I usually end up scrapping the fresh chilies for some crushed red pepper flakes, […]

Leave a Reply

