Danger Nuts

It’s one of those days.

In case you are superhuman and don’t have these kind of days, let me elaborate: On these days, anything edible is not safe within a 10-ft radius of me. And if it’s 11 feet away, I just move myself a foot closer, therefore putting it within an acceptable range. I can’t stop myself.

I don’t want to.

It’s only a problem if you choose to look at it that way. So…um…don’t.

See, today, when I pulled out my keys to unlock the car, I realized I had lost my car key. That would have sucked enough if it was my car, but it’s my parents’ car — and not just their car, but the car they let me borrow since they needed to borrow the other car of theirs I was borrowing since my car is stranded in Aussie’s garage with a flat and the inability to start (follow that?). All I could do was assume my three good-hair-days in a row had caught up with me, and now it was time to pay. I knew three good-hair-days in a row was too good to be true!

Luckily, shortly after getting to work (after missing the first bus I tried to chase down, mind you), the janitor found my key! It had fallen off my keychain at work. Hallelujah!

But still, I was thrown…and when I’m thrown, I eat.

That bowl of Easter candy in the main office that I’ve never touched? Now it’s one short.

Those “Danger Nuts” (i.e. cinnamon-covered almonds) Aussie packed me for a snack to last me the week? Gone by 9am.

That jar full of chocolate-dipped almond-ginger biscotti I’ve previously been able to ignore at the coffee shop? Well…

Can you blame me?

Thought not.

All I can hope is that I’ve got it out of my system. I probably consumed 90% of my daily POINTS before noon. Here’s to a more restrained afternoon!

But I’ll tell you what… I can’t totally regret my vacuum-like tendencies…

It was a damn delicious morning.

3 thoughts on “Danger Nuts

  1. Kristi says:

    I’ve had that for the past week and a half. Probably have consumed the amount I am supposed to eat in a month in 8 days. I can’t stop… I don’t know how to.

    • Jenni says:

      I understand, Kris. When you’re stressed or emotional or overwhelmed, it’s really hard to pay enough attention (or to WANT to pay enough attention) to control your eating.

      Just give yourself a break, ok? Like, a mental break (i.e. don’t beat yourself up)… or maybe even a break from caring, and then start anew when you can. I don’t know — just an idea.

      LOVE MY SEESTER!!!

  2. Jen says:

    I totally get like that at a certain time of month, but for things I don’t normally crave, like meat.

Leave a Reply

