Inspiration blues –> Recipe Roundup

I haven’t felt particularly inspired to write lately. Maybe it’s due to the crap-fest that is February. Maybe it’s because of the soul-suck that is my work in February. Maybe it’s the completely confused weather that has me scratching my head and wondering if it even IS February…

What’s that you say? It’s MARCH? Well, there you go.

So, today I’m making an effort here, people. Expect: Lots of pictures. Do not expect: Brilliance.

So, I’ve recently gotten myself into trouble. No, not THAT kind of trouble! This trouble takes the shape of an RSS feed. See, I thought that having all of my blogs in one place would SAVE time. Little did I realize that it would exponentially morph itself daily into a greater and greater time suck. I’ve got blogs on knitting, decorating, crafts, humor (everyone needs a little FML from time to time to make themselves feel better about their own lives!), and, of course…

Food.

It’s only one of my top three loves, right after my family (dogs included) and my Aussie.

Duh.

Anyway, inspired by the mouth-watering recipes (although wishing they didn’t all include heavy cream — *ahem* Pioneer Woman *ahem*!), I have been spending more time experimenting in the kitchen. Unfortunately, my photography skills have not been similarly inspired, so I can’t take credit for most of what you’re about to see.

So, as promised, here are photos (and links to) some pretty delicious recipes!

Chana Masala (from smitten kitchen)

My first foray into Indian food! And you know what? It was pretty darn good! Heed my advice, though: make sure your two onions are SMALL onions. Walla Walla onions don’t count. I used two of those suckers, and it diluted the flavor so much that on day one, this was downright bland. Of course, the flavor improved with age, but when I make it again, I’ll definitely use small onions.

Chicken Korma (from Noble Pig)

Indian-ish, at least in name! This had the weirdest process ever, but damn, it was good. I nixed the 1/4 cup of oil (think of the POINTS!!!) and instead just sprayed the pan with cooking spray, and you know what? No one would ever have been the wiser. I had my doubts when I licked some splattered “watery paste” off my hand (it tasted like crap), but the finish product was worthy of eating it slowly instead of scarfing.

Yup, I’m part dude.

Ultimate Cheater Pulled Pork (found on The Kitchn)

I’ve got an awesome recipe for Pulled Pork already, but I might like this one even better. Aussie decided to make it into wraps with Aussie flatbread, sprouts, carrots, and Beecher’s Marco Polo cheese, which was not only incredibly delicious and pretty healthy, but super fast! My kind of meal!

I’ve even made a couple meals that I didn’t find on blogs… and attempted to take artsy shots of them (moderate fail, but whatev):

Homemade Spaghetti & Meatballs (or something like that, from the Weight Watchers Momentum Cookbook)

Did you know you can actually make pasta sauce from cooking down tomatoes? Who’d’ve thunk? Probably everyone but me. Good thing I had an Aussie to cut said tomatoes, because otherwise this wouldn’t have happened. It was subtle, but good, and made me want to make my own pasta sauce from tomatoes again. Yum.

Gingered Beef & Broccoli (from the same Weight Watchers cookbook).

Yum! Very gingery, not saucy. Light and good. I love me some beef and broccoli, and of all the Chinese food out there, it’s usually one of the healthiest options.

So, see? Lots of experimenting, and all pretty darn healthy. Next up?

Coconut Chicken Chili (from Noble Pig)

Of course, I’ll substitute light coconut milk for regular… but I bet no one can tell.

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Inspiration blues –> Recipe Roundup

  1. Jen says:

    …coconut chicken chili? Now I’ve got to try that one. I found a firey chicken chili that I really like (it’s kind of weird–lot of spices and grated sweet potato.)

  2. Jen says:

    http://community.livejournal.com/what_a_crock/770174.html

    I didn’t put any extra salt in with the canned stuff (and I was using low sodium versions), and it was plenty salty. It made a TON.

Leave a Reply

