This just in: Peppermint bark is as good as sex**

Can I get an “amen???”

Ok, maybe it’s not QUITE as good as sex… or maybe it’s just as good but in it’s own category. Whatever. Can I just rest assured no one is going to accuse me of a food fetish now?

Good. Now we can move on.

I don’t like candy canes, so I was skeptical a few year’s back when I tried Williams-Sonoma’s Peppermint Bark. Well, folks, I fell HARD. Come Thanksgiving and until Christmas, I stop into Williams-Sonoma every chance I get just in case they are giving out free samples. Of course, I would never BUY it (how could Ms. Frugality spend $22/lb on something? No way), but the road to my heaven is paved in samples.

Sadly, Williams-Sonoma has been seriously stingy this year, with no samples of peppermint bark to be found. Luckily for me, my coworker Brenda gave me some tasty homemade peppermint bark for my Christmas present this year. Unluckily for me, I inhaled it in about two seconds and immediately had to go looking for my next fix.

Still too cheap to buy the stuff, I decided to try to replicate my beloved Williams-Sonoma version, and lucky me, I found a recipe for it! Literally, it’s called “Peppermint Bark Recipe like Williams-Sonoma.”  Happy Day!

So, here it is for you. It’s the easiest thing ever… and it could be both the prettiest and tastiest thing too. Enjoy!

Peppermint Bark Recipe Like Williams-Sonoma (title is too good to edit! Recipe has some minor edits)

12 oz chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet, but bittersweet could work too)

1 lb white chocolate chips (“Chocolate” being the key word. Many chips are made with palm oil and other crap, with nary a drop of cocoa butter to be found. Nestle and Ghiradelli, you can’t fool me. I have your number. Watch your  back.)

1/2 tsp peppermint extract

6 oz crushed candy canes (I used the little ones, but the I think the big ones would splinter more readily and would therefore make more visually appealing bark)

Preheat oven to 250. Line a 9×13 pan with foil (let the extra hang over the sides). Pour chocolate chips in an even layer, and put in oven for 5 mins or until almost melted (Funnest part — it’s like being a concrete paver machine). Remove from oven, smooth with a spatula, then refrigerate for about 20 mins or until cold.

Melt white chocolate chips in a double boiler until chocolate is almost melted. Remove chocolate from heat and stir until completely melted, stirring in extract. Let cool a little bit so it doesn’t melt the chocolate layer when you pour it on top (and let the regular chocolate warm up a bit before you poor the white chocolate on top — otherwise it won’t stick). Pour the white chocolate over chocolate layer, and, working quickly, spread to cover. Sprinkle with crushed candy canes (of course, you let your boyfriend crush the candy. He feels like he is helping AND he gets his work aggression out so he can be nice. Win-win). Pretty!

Chill until both layers are firm. Lift foil out of pan and shake off excess candy. Stab bark with a knife to break into chunks, because chunks are cooler than even strips. Store in refrigerator in covered container.  (Another benefit of storing in the fridge is that the bark is harder to eat when it’s hard, so it lasts longer).

Then… EAT EAT EAT!!!  And maybe make more real soon, because it won’t last long. Enjoy!

**Disclaimer: I don’t actually think peppermint bark is as good as sex. I mean, sex is obviously really very good, quite fantastic… yeah, I won’t continue on that vain for PG-sake. But seeing as how food was my first love, I’ll always have a soft spot for it. Girls always remember their first!

5 thoughts on “This just in: Peppermint bark is as good as sex**

  1. Jen says:

    Mmm…this looks good. Did you know you can nuke chocolate to melt it, too?

    • Jenni says:

      Yup! The recipe says you can, but only if you’re “brave” — whatever that is supposed to mean. I prefer to do things the old-fashioned way… or the creative way (my “double broiler” was a saucepan suck in a wok full of water)!

      • Jen says:

        Say, what brand of chips did you wind up buying? Out here I”m finding only Nestle or Ghiradelli. 😦 (I’m near Boston for the holidays.)

    • Jenni says:

      It was called E. Guittard — I got it at Metropolitan Market. You might need to go to a fancy-pants market… at Safeway, they only had Nestle and Ghiradelli. Although they did have bars of Ghiradelli white chocolate (real chocolate) — it would cost more, but it would work.

      • Jen says:

        Ack, just saw your response. Stepmom of the Hoopy Frood hooked us up on where to get the good stuff. 🙂 Came out great, but we made the layers a bit too thick and it was nearly-impossible to break!

Leave a Reply

