Crock pot fabulousness (and recipes)

We all know that I’m a huge fan of the crock pot, but I realized I haven’t posted much about my escapades with my best red friend.

So, some recipes you should try and one you shouldn’t:

Try: Split Pea Soup

Holy god, this is the best thing I’ve ever tasted. (Yes, I’m prone to hyperbole, but this is seriously, seriously good). And ridiculously easy. And pretty cheap, too, since you can get all the ingredients for about $10, and it makes three meals for two people. This modified recipe is a joint effort between me and Safeway’s bag of split peas to give you a soup to make your taste buds dance and sing:

1 lb bag of split green peas

1 nice meaty pork shank, or about 3 ham hocks

2 onions, chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

2 carrots, peeled and chopped

2 bay leaves (double this if you’re making it stove-top)

1 tsp dried thyme

pepper (a bunch if you have good sense)

water

salt to taste

Put everything except thyme, pepper, and salt in the crock pot (veggies on the bottom). Add enough water to cover all the ingredients. Cook for a long-ass time. Try not to peak and stir and obsessively fret over its consistency. Add thyme and pepper in the last hour. DO NOT ADD SALT YET! Do this to taste when you eat it, because, as we all know, split pea gets saltier day by day, and you don’t want your leftovers to be inedible.

Keep in mind that this soup takes a LONG time. Give it about 10 hours on low. Then eat and savor the fact that you’re alive to eat such delicious food.

Try: Chicken in a Crock Pot

1 chicken (my crock pot fits an up-to-4 lb chicken)

lots of veggies (we used onions, garlic, celery, and carrots)

some chicken broth, water, or white wine — about a cup.

Could this be easier? Put everything in the crock pot. Cook. (Careful, though — don’t cook it too long. 10 hours on low resulted in a slightly dry bird, so I’d say shoot for 8.) Really, really tasty and gives you lots of leftovers.

Try: Pulled Pork

Holy crap, this is another one to make you live to eat. Courtesy of my coworker Joanne…

1 big ol’ pork roast (I think ours was 2lbs).

1 onion

1/2 bottle of beer

1 bottle BBQ sauce (we used a tropical sauce that I won in a raffle (so classy), but next time I think we’ll go with traditional, and maybe add some chili flakes or something to give it a kick).

Put the pork, onion, and beer in the crock pot for however long… I think I did 9 hours. In the last hour, add BBQ sauce. Go do yoga, think about your pulled pork, return and eat your pulled pork. And eat and eat and eat, because it’s addictive. YUM!!!

Don’t Try: IKEA Yellow Pea Soup

I’m not going to give you a recipe, because it’s a waste of time. Here I thought it would be like regular split pea, but it’s not. Not even bacon could save it. It’s not HORRIBLE, but it had me wasting leftovers, which is a travesty. Just take my word for it, ok?

Sorry for the lack of pictures, but honestly, crock pot photos just don’t translate. If I can get some decent ones the next time I try these recipes, I’ll post them. More recipes to come, especially since I discovered this awesome blog, written by a woman who used her crock pot every day in the year of 2008. I’ve got a couple of her recipes in the pipe — can’t wait to give them a try!

4 thoughts on “Crock pot fabulousness (and recipes)

  1. Jen says:

    I’m going to have to give the split pea soup a try…my mom’s came out like burnt grass sludge. Okay, they all sound good!

    • Jenni says:

      Yeah, it’s kind of hard to make good split pea in a pot, but this is SO EASY and SO GOOD. Let me know how it turns out. 🙂

  2. […] got an awesome recipe for Pulled Pork already, but I might like this one even better. Aussie decided to make it into wraps with Aussie […]

  3. […] already had one recipe in my repertoire that utilized beer, and oh boy, is it good. Then I saw another one — yum yum […]

Leave a Reply

