You give me warm fuzzies.

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

1) You cook for me.

2) When I think about you, I get warm fuzzies.

3) You smell wonderful.

4) You make my life easier and better.

5) You only cost $19.99 at Target!

Bet that last one threw you, huh. You probably thought I was talking about my Aussie until near the end of the list. Although I love him, I’m actually talking about his new “rival”…my new Rival Crock-Pot 4-qt. Oval Slow Cooker – Red!

41ZKWQ25E2L._AA400_Isn’t he just the cutest thing ever?? And he’s not just cute, folks — he’s probably the best invention in the entire world. (And yes, he’s a he — anything I daydream about MUST be male!)

On Monday, I dumped 3 cans of beans (2 pinto and 1 black, rinsed and drained), a can of corn (drained), a giant can of diced tomatoes, a chopped onion, two packets of taco seasoning, and two turkey breasts in Mr. Crock-Pot, and I came home 10 hours later to this:

P1000861

YUM!  Healthy, tasty, and he did all the work FOR ME!  Seriously, people, I’m in love. Yesterday I made split pea soup by dumping a bag of dried split peas, a chopped onion, two chopped carrots, three ham hocks, two bay leaves, and enough water to cover into the pot, and 8 hours later had the thickest, creamiest, most delicious split pea soup you can imagine… with enough left over for lunch, of course!

Some seriously good things came out of women leaving the home and going to work, and, besides equal pay and rights and yada yada, this may be one of the best.

Move over, Aussie. There’s a 4-qt, “pretty-enough-for-the-table” stranger in town, and I am so, so smitten!

8 thoughts on “You give me warm fuzzies.

  1. Jen says:

    Cool, that’s mine! I absolutely love it and made chicken and dumplings last Monday. 🙂 It cooks pretty fast, though.

  2. Mary says:

    I might have to try your recipes. Tis the season for Crock Pot meals, after all. Did you add any liquid to the soup or chili, or was the stuff that sweated out of your other ingredients enough?

  3. […] { Cooking Up a Storm, Maintaining's a Bitch } We all know that I’m a huge fan of the crock pot, but I realized I haven’t posted much about my escapades with my best red […]

  4. […] recipe for Pork Marrakesh, made quadruply attractive by utilizing my best friend, the crock pot. Pork, dried apricots, cinnamon, what’s not to […]

Leave a Reply

