Muffin-y Deliciousness

The girls and I got together last night to watch Grey’s Anatomy. I hosted, and with a sense of occasion, I decided to attempt some delicious-looking muffins my friend Cheryl blogged about (you can find a much better photo and the recipe by following the link).

Behold — Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins!

P1000739

Delicious, especially when spread with bit of margarine (see? trying!!)! But how could you go wrong with bananas (yum), chocolate chips (super yum), and peanut butter (miracle food that cures all ailments)?

Yeah, that’s what I thought!

Anyway, here are some things I’d do differently next time:

*Use super ripe bananas. I bought the ripest I could find at the store, but it would have been better to use the super-soft super-flavorful kind.

*Cook a bit shorter than asked. 35 minutes was too long for my first batch, but 33 was perfect for the second. Alternatively, make the muffins bigger!

*I used reduced-fat chunky peanut spread because that’s what I had, but I imagine something smooth and all-natural with lots of oil (like Adam’s) would yield better results.

*Add walnuts, because why not? I think it would be delicious! I abstained because the girls don’t like them, but next time, the nuts are mine.

For those with an eye to portion size/of the Weight-Watcher mind-set, this recipe yielded 21 muffins, 4 POINTS each. They’re small but pretty rich, so you don’t really need to scarf them. I managed to limit myself to 2.

YUM!

2 thoughts on “Muffin-y Deliciousness

  1. Cheryl says:

    Yay! I’m glad you liked the muffins. We used Adam’s no-stir creamy. I’m not a fan of walnuts, but I think pecans would be super good!

    • Jenni says:

      I’m going to try Adam’s next time. They were the teensiest dry with the stuff I used, and since Adam’s has more oil, I think that would fix the problem.

      Mmm.. pecans sound delicious too!

Leave a Reply

