Recipe: Chicken Foil Packets with Butternut Squash and Potatoes

Immediately following my last post, I set my mind to dinner. Hmm… what to make that was a) somewhat easy, b) somewhat healthy, and c) somewhat cheap? With little brain cogs turning, I remembered reading about cooking with foil packets in HungryGirl’s newsletter this morning and decided that I might as well give it a go. At the grocery store, I also decided to buy a butternut squash since I loved that addition to Aussie’s Sunday Roast so much, and some potatoes to go with.

We’re flying by the seat of our pants, folks!

I had no idea how to cook a butternut squash, but after some internet searching, I decided to slice it in half, brush it with olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and bake at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes.

For the chicken, I decided to make a variation of this recipe from cooks.com, minus the mushrooms (because I didn’t buy any) and cheese (because I’m really trying here, guys!).  I also used sweet paprika I bought on choir tour in Hungary rather than the customary spicy stuff we get here. Lastly, I ended up cooking it for close to 40 mins since at 18 it was still raw. EW! But you know what? Whatever!

Here’s what I ended up with:

J 250

The chicken was pretty delicious, even though it looked like bland diet food. Next time, I’ll cook it for 35 minutes right from the get-go. The squash was tasty although a bit crunchy for my tastes — next time, I think I’ll cook it for an hour or more until it dissolves into mushy goodness. Same goes for the ‘tater.

Not perfect, but overall, pretty good and worth repeating!

Leave a Reply

