Starting Now… yet again, but for real this time.

Back when I was in weight loss mode, I used to think all those ladies at Weight Watchers who complained about how they just didn’t have time to make sure they were eating right just weren’t trying hard enough. I mean, how hard is it to take an hour or two on Sunday to make a plan and grocery shop, and think for 5 minutes each night about what you’ll eat the next day? Not hard at all, in fact, but I think I’m starting to understand their point.

See, when I was in weight loss mode, I was single and had ample time to myself. My job wasn’t particularly strenuous, and my extracurricular activities were largely confined within school (and by extension, work) hours. I was able to take time to strategize, plan, research, exercise, etc. Factor in the constant positive reinforcement I was receiving, and, well, you’ve got a winning combination.

Now, though, work is kicking me in the pants and leaving me so exhausted that all I want to do is collapse on the couch at home and order a pizza. Sure, I’ve only given into this particular impulse once or twice, I think, but my mind frequently goes there. In addition, I’m not thinking just of myself, but also of my Aussie — where I’m sleeping that night, the time he gets off work, and the other fun things we have planned all play a role in what I eat for dinner and whether or not (mostly not) I exercise. Lastly, non-work activities like travel, parties, hanging out with friends, and impending choir rehearsals all reappoint much of the time I used to spend on planning and exercising. Even the time between meals where I used to think about what to eat next is now eaten up by something else.

In essence, I feel like I’m now eating to live rather than living to eat, and I don’t like it one bit! And as much as I hate exercise, I miss the feeling of accomplishment I got from doing it — and the non-flabby muscles, too!

So, this leaves me in a conundrum. I like my extracurriculars, I love being with my Aussie, and while I hate feeling like I’ve been hit by a mac truck after work, it’s preferable to being bored out of my mind. That means it’s time to make a plan… and since there isn’t more time to be a had, I have to instead restructure my priorities:

Priority #1: Thinking about what I’ll eat AHEAD OF TIME. This used to be a habit, so I know I can do it. This includes planning dinners for the week, spending 5 minutes a night to plan out what I’ll eat the next day, etc. I’m a planner by nature, so this isn’t too much of a chore.

Priority #2: Exercising on a regular basis. Since I’m back on “school year” schedule now, I can easily appoint Tuesday and one weekend day for exercise, at a bare minimum. I am even *GASP* going to explore going the university’s gym. Not super convenient, but a damn good value!

So, ladies at Weight Watchers with husbands and families and vast more amounts of responsibilities that I have, I apologize for thinking you lazy. I was naive and puffed up by my own rapid success. I now get what you mean — sometimes, you’re just too tired to think about it, and grabbing a treat out of the vending machine is easiest and comes down to a matter of survival, not being too lazy to think of anything else! But hopefully, instead of dwelling on that, we all can figure out a way to put ourselves first and make it happen.

Because, well, it HAS to happen. I can’t afford to buy bigger pants for Fall! 😉

6 thoughts on “Starting Now… yet again, but for real this time.

  1. soo says:

    Jenni! I just read your blog for the first time, and I totally have to agree with you…my life in London is kicking off now, and gosh it was a terrible day today. I had breakfast in the practice room(cheesebread and a banana with coffee), lunch(grocery store-bought pasta salad, way too little in portion)with tea, and dinner (take-out yakisoba) plus a glass of red wine with friends after I was done with everything at 8:30…I got home at around 11:20pm, and got hungry so I had a couple of rice cake with humus. It’s been a while since I actually had a nutrition-balanced meal, and it’s really getting annoying. On top of that, my flatmate is a bitch so I can’t really cook korean food. I am thinking I should just do it-I mean, a girl’s gotta eat what she’s gotta eat, right?

    Anyway, the point is, I really don’t have time…Maybe I should follow what you’re doing and plan everything ahead of time, possibly on the weekend. But there are only so many things I can make, and I am home at irregular hours every day. Do you have any idea what I should do?

    • Jenni says:

      Ok, first of all — screw your racist roommate! A girl definitely has to eat what a girl has to eat!

      But what should the girl eat? That, my dear, is my own question. At least I can keep a little fridge in my office stocked with food, but it’s hardly that easy when you’re a student roaming around campus! It takes thinking ahead, but you could make food for the week and freeze things in portion-controlled containers, and then get a cute little insulated tote to take it with you (I mean, a cute bag makes packing it more attractive, right?). Alternatively, you could eat processed frozen things — I know it’s a cop-out, but I usually eat a Lean Cuisine for lunch, and that’s easy to carry and relatively filling, provided you can get to a microwave.

      Huh… tough one, babe! Makes you miss our lovely alma mater’s well-stocked cafeteria, eh? (P.S. I miss you, and while I think it’s awesome that you’re in London, I think you should just come home instead. 😉 XOXO!)

  2. Jen says:

    Have you tried amazon fresh or something for groceries? It’s a $30 minimum with a $5 delivery charge. I’d rather pay $5 than have to drag stuff back on the bus. Prices are about like Trader Joe’s.

    • Jenni says:

      I’ve looked into that, and only balked because I am super-picky (practically to pathological levels) about my produce. I can’t bear the thought of someone else picking it out — they might miss a bruise or a mark or EW!!! But I may a) try to get over that, or b) use it for non-produce stuff. It’s totally worth a try! Thanks for the tip!

  3. Mary Ann says:

    OMG Jenny, you and I are totally in the same spot. I find it so much harder to find the time to go to the gym now that I’m in a relationship and work is super busy. It made me feel so good to know that someone else is going through this too, and I know that we are awesome and can get through it! 🙂

    • Jenni says:

      Ditto, Mary Ann. I wish that wasn’t happening to EITHER of us, but it’s still good to know I’m not alone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

