Recipe: Outside-In Cheeseburgers with Sweet Potato Fries

I realized yesterday that, for the past five days, I had become an accidental vegetarian. The granddaughter and niece of butchers spending five days subsisting entirely on vegetables and fish, with chicken on only the fifth day?  That ain’t right.

This situation called for red meat. Burgers! CHEESEBURGERS!  But, still listening to the judging, nagging part of my mind that says “Stay within your daily POINTS values!!.” I decided to attack it from a healthy angle.

I found a recipe for “Outside-In Cheeseburgers” on HungryGirl’s newsletter and decided to give it a try. For buns, I used Thomas’ Multigrain English Muffins (only 1 POINT!), and I garnished with spinach, onion, ketchup, and dijoinnaise (maybe the best invention ever!). I added a side of Sweet Potato Fries (inspired by E*Beth) topped with olive oil, sea salt, and pepper… and voila! A big, hearty, and yummy burgers-and-fries meal for a measley 7ish POINTS!

Cheesy Goodness

Cheesy Goodness. 🙂

**Note: Next time, I’ll try the burger with half a wedge of Laughing Cow instead of the whole thing.  It was a bit much this way.

Leave a Reply

