Very important warning, and Recipe: Baked Brie with Almonds and Apricots

Yesterday I made an absolutely mouth-watering baked brie for my book club.  It turned out SOOO much better than I expected, but I learned a very valuable lesson.  First, though, deliciousness!

Baked Brie with Apricots and Almonds (courtesy of Pampered Chef, edited a bit to make more sense)

1/4 c. finely diced dried apricots

1/4 c. almonds, chopped

1 tbsp snipped parsley (I substituted dried parsley with no ill effects)

2 tbsp apricot preserves

1 tsp dijon mustard

1-8 oz package refrigerated crescent roll dough

1-4 inch round (8 oz) brie cheese, rind included

1 egg, lightly beaten

apple or pear wedges, optional (I opted not)

1) Preheat oven to 350″. Combine apricots, almonds, parsley, preserves, and mustards; mix well.

2) Unroll crescent dough on lightly floured surface. Cut dough in half to make two squares, pressing seams to seal. Place brie on one square of dough and set aside remaining square. Trim corners of the first square, leaving a 1-inch border around the brie.  Spread apricot mixture evenly over the top of the brie.

3) Cut a shape from the center of the second square of dough, trim corners and press seams to seal.  Place second square over the brie. Fold and crimp edges of the two squares together to seal. Put brie into a baking dish. Brush egg over surface of dough. If desired, cut out shapes from the scraps of dough, place on surface, and brush with egg.

4) Bake 30-35 mins until crust is deep golden brown. Let stand 15 mins before serving. Garnish with apple or pear wedges if desired.

Baked Brie

No, you’re not seeing things. The cut-out is airbrushed. Seeing as how my book club was reading “Dangerous Liaisons,” the discussion was being followed by a Passion Party, and I asked my darling Aussie for suggestions on what shape to cut… well, use your imaginations!  In theory, though, the filling peeks out of the hole — really, it’s quite pretty when it’s all done!

Now, for the lesson learned:

NEVER EAT RAW REFRIGERATED CRESCENT DOUGH!  My stomach mutinied on me last night, and now I feel like I did 1000 crunchies instead of eat delicious food and discuss scandalous sexy Frenchmen with my friends. Ugh.

2 thoughts on “Very important warning, and Recipe: Baked Brie with Almonds and Apricots

  1. […] example, the recipe for my Baked Brie called for dried apricots and almonds.  If I bought full bags of these, I would have easily spend […]

  2. […] { December 17, 2010 @ 12:59 pm } · { Cooking Up a Storm } Someone found my blog yesterday by searching for “adorable small kitten in cup.” What the…? Not being particularly infatuated with cats, I’m pretty sure I’ve never written about them, although I do have one tiny picture of an adorable kitten, but, well… weird. Not nearly as random as when someone found my blog searching for “eating raw crescent dough” — that one just makes sense! […]

Leave a Reply

