Recipe: Salmon with Bok Choy and Wild and Brown Rice

Let’s face it: my Aussie and I love to eat — and we eat way too much. I’m desperately trying to maintain my goal weight, and I would like my man to eat a bit healthier as well.  So, in a desperate attempt to keep our butts out of restaurants and away from unhealthy food or huge portions, I’m trying to take over the kitchen!

I picked up this recipe from Pike Place Market last summer, but never had the chance to make it. It sounded healthy, simple, and tasty, so I decided to give it a go!

Salmon with Bok Choy (serves 4)

2 tbs olive oil

1 tbs butter

2 lbs salmon fillet

1 1/2 lb bok choy

1/2 grated lemon peel

salt and pepper

Heat oven to 475 degrees. Put olive oil and butter in skillet (I used a roasting pan, and any oven-safe pan will do). Place in oven for 3 minutes until butter is melted. Season fish with salt and pepper, and place flesh-side down in skillet. Bake for 10 minutes, turning once halfway through, until just cooked through. Remove from skillet, keep warm. Add bok choy and lemon to skillet. Stir to coat with pan’s oil, and bake for 1 minute until leaves are wilted and stems are warm.

I used coho salmon, substituted margarine for butter, garnished the salmon with a slice of the lemon, and added a side of a wild and brown rice blend I bought in bulk at Whole Foods.  A half recipe made two filling portions. Add a white wine (no idea what kind, but it was from Italy), and yum!  A delicious, healthy meal that is super easy!

Salmon with Bok Choy

Bon appetite! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Salmon with Bok Choy and Wild and Brown Rice

  1. wine blog says:

    Looks yummy! I love Salmon and brown rice is one of my favs as well! Only thing the meal needs is a nice glass of wine and you’d be set. May I suggest Pinot Noir if you like red. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

